News Detail

Ruth Simpson November 13, 2018

The Minnesota Association of Townships Awards Scholarships

Six Winners Will Be Announced at Award Banquet Friday, November 16 in Duluth, Minnesota

The Minnesota Association of Townships (MAT) is proud to announce the six winners of its essay scholarship awards. Each winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship to the school of their choice. The winners will be recognized at an evening banquet presentation during our Annual Conference held November 16th, at the Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC). The winners are:

  • Kaitlyn Alaspa, Chisholm, St. Louis County 

  • Thomas Aman, Crow Wing Lake Township, Hubbard County

  • Gus Boedigheimer, Harris Township, Itasca County

  • Anne Courtemanche, Aitkin Township, Aitkin County

  • Megan Nelson, Palmer Township, Sherburne County

  • Sofia Stumpf, Heron Lake Township, Jackson County

Nathan Redalen, President of the MAT Board of Directors, said, “On behalf of the Board of Directors, I want to congratulate the six scholarship winners. MAT’s scholarship program has been a great success. It has been in place for 18 years with 70 scholarships awarded since its inception. We are very proud of the scholarship program and that it is open to all high school juniors from across the state.”

To enter the contest, the juniors answered a question developed to support MAT’s 2018 Conference theme: “Powering Our Future: Energy to Build on in Your Township.” Students were asked to answer: How can townships balance the required needs of residents for safe, reliable energy sources while responding to the health, safety, economic, and environmental concerns of their community? Each essay is 500 words in length. The winners’ essays are posted on the MAT website.

“The question allows the students to research the given topic and become more informed about township government. We are proud of the role townships serve in our system of government, and we want to encourage young people to learn about how we govern and the issues important to township residents. MAT’s scholarship program helps us achieve this goal,” stated Redalen.

An independent panel of judges reviewed the essays over the summer Redalen explained, “When judges receive the essays, they are given no information on who submitted it and where they live or go to school. The essays are judged solely on their merit. We’d like to thank our judges — John Tuma, Commissioner on the Minnesota Public Utility Commission, Darrick Moe, President & CEO of the Minnesota Rural Electric Association and Ellen Anderson, Executive Director of the University of Minnesota’s Energy Transition Lab— for doing a superb job in reviewing this year’s essays.”

“MAT will celebrate the 2018 scholarship recipients at our Annual Banquet on Friday, November 16. We look forward to congratulating the students who won,” concluded Redalen.

Post expires at 7:42pm on Thursday December 13th, 2018

Website Design Developed By AE2S Communications